Tusheti

Last summer I had an amazing solo weekend to the remote Tusheti region in the northeast, bordering to Dagestan (Russia). First up through the 2927m Koja pass and then down winding roads on the other side. These roads open at the end of June and close in September-October, nevertheless, a couple of handful of people live there all year round in deep isolation.

DSC_0125

I shouted of exitement as the thick fog cleared before my eyes to disclose this breathaking view

 

DSC_0098

Workers clearing the road treating me to lunch both on the way up and down

The views are absolutely breathtaking. Travelling on my own I made sure to stop and talk to people I passed on the way. Good, honest, beautiful people!

DSC_0218

12 hours on horseback to reach his summer residence in Tusheti

DSC_0157

Dartlo – In this small village only one man stays the winter together with his cows and chickens (!) One generation ago the population was bigger, and the Soviet regime provided schooling for the ca five kids

To get there you’ll need a 4×4 – in Telavi you can find people to take you. It’s easy to find homestays once you get there.

About wangaa

A couple of years ago some people I know unanimously said that “Aron, he’s a seeker.” At the time that was undoubtedly true, but since then I think that aspect of me has subsided somewhat. I’ve taken some time off and explored the world within and without, and through the support of beautiful teachers, friends, family, books and practice I found more clarity in life. So grateful for this journey! Perhaps this blogg will serve as inspiration or reflection for a reader, perhaps someone simply is interested in what I'm up to. But it is also very much for myself. For I am searching in waters which are not known to me, and should I sail astray, hopefully this blogg can track me back to safer waters.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment